Why Choose Bread Roots?

If you or anyone you have ever known has suffered from food allergies or intolerances, then you will understand how difficult it can be to find allergen free breads, treats and baked goods. Well, we have sought out and found these mythical goodies for you! Bread Roots Inc. is proud to provide you with a wonderful variety of Vegan, Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Nut Free, Egg Free and GMO Free products, directly to you!

Bread Roots understands that more and more customers are coming into Health Food Stores looking for a wide range of allergen free breads and bakery items. Here at Bread Roots, we are committed to providing these amazing foods across Ontario and Quebec and giving you full access to all ingredients and nutritional information for these niche products that our bakeries supply.

Gluten Free Foods

Several grains and starch sources are considered acceptable for a gluten-free diet. The most frequently used are corn, potatoes, rice, and tapioca (derived from cassava). Other grains and starch sources generally considered suitable for gluten-free diets include amaranth, arrowroot, millet, montina, lupine, quinoa, sorghum (jowar), taro, teff, Chia seed, and yam. Various types of bean, soybean, and nut flours are sometimes used in gluten-free products to add protein and dietary fiber. Almond flour is a low-carbohydrate alternative to flour, with a low glycemic index. In spite of its name, buckwheat is not related to wheat; pure buckwheat is considered acceptable for a gluten-free diet, although many commercial buckwheat products are actually mixtures of wheat and buckwheat flours, and thus not acceptable. Gram flour, derived from chickpeas, is also gluten-free (this is not the same as Graham flour made from wheat)

What is celiac disease?

Celiac disease is an inherited autoimmune disease. The symptoms are triggered by “gluten”, the name given to certain proteins in wheat (including spelt and Kamut), barley, rye, and triticale (a cross between wheat and rye). In celiac disease, the body’s immune system responds abnormally to gluten, resulting in inflammation and damage to the lining of the small intestine, and reduced absorption of iron, calcium, vitamins A, D, E, K, and folate. A gluten-free diet is a diet that excludes foods containing gluten. Gluten is a protein found in wheat (including Kamut and spelt), barley, rye, malts and triticale. It is used as a food additive in the form of a flavoring, stabilizing or thickening agent, often as “dextrin”. A gluten-free diet is the only medically accepted treatment for celiac disease, the related condition dermatitis herpetiformis and wheat allergy. Additionally, a gluten-free diet may exclude oats. Medical practitioners are divided on whether oats are an allergen to celiac disease sufferers or if they are cross-contaminated in milling facilities by other allergens. The term gluten-free is generally used to indicate a supposed harmless level of gluten rather than a complete absence. The exact level at which gluten is harmless is uncertain and controversial. A recent systematic review tentatively concluded that consumption of less than 10 mg of gluten per day is unlikely to cause histological abnormalities, although it noted that few reliable studies had been done. Regulation of the label gluten-free varies widely by country. In the United States, the FDA issued regulations in 2007 limiting the use of “gluten-free” in food products to those with less than 20 ppm of gluten. The current international Codex Alimentarius standard allows for 20 ppm of gluten in so-called “gluten-free” foods.

Egg Free Foods

Some people who are allergic to the proteins in raw egg can tolerate baked goods because the heat during the baking process changes the structure of the allergy-inducing protein. However anyone with a severe reaction should definitely avoid all produce containing eggs. Children with egg allergy must avoid egg in all forms. Egg white is the part of the egg responsible for allergic reactions. But, it is impossible to separate the white from the yolk without traces of egg white protein getting on the yolk. Children with egg allergy also must avoid anything containing traces of egg ingredients in it.

What does it mean to be dairy free?

People who seek dairy-free products may be vegan or have an allergy to dairy. Vegans avoid all animal products, including eggs and dairy, for a variety of reasons, including health, religious or ethical views. Individuals with a dairy allergy are allergic to either one or both of the milk proteins, casein and whey.

What does being Vegan really mean?

A choice to follow a vegan lifestyle is a major decision not to be taken lightly. When properly planned, a vegan diet can be considerably healthier than any traditional diet. By ingredients, Certified Vegan products are dairy-free/non-dairy, egg-free and vegan, but always be sure to check with the manufacturer to ensure that all production processes are certified and documented appropriately for potential allergen bound foods, and that they are not cross-contaminated during manufacturing.